When is black not black? Kindle for iPad app

I recently upgraded to IOS 6 on my iPad and was able to download the latest version of the Kindle app. Having a muck about on it as you do, I noticed that you can now reverse out the text (night theme) like you’ve been able to do on iBooks for a while. So I pressed the ‘black’ button and the background went black and my text went … er … slightly less black. So I fiddled with it some more, I changed fonts and font sizes. I switched it on and off again. Then I opened to a self-published book I’d recently downloaded – and black with white text. Hmm. Checked a few more downloads. Black with white text. Back to another in the series I’m converting at the moment – black with slightly less black. Hmm. A test book I made a couple of months back – black with white text.

OK … check the css files. Ah! The test book css shows the text’s hex number is #000000, but the files I’m currently working on have hex #1a1818. This is the colour that InDesign CS6 generated from the ‘text black’ swatch (RGB 26,24,24) during ePub export. So once the css was changed to #000000 the file displayed properly.  It seems that the black theme setting on the Kindle app will only reverse the text out to white if it is pure black.

I don’t remember changing the css on my test file, but I could have. If I didn’t though, it seems that InDesign used to convert to #000000 in CS5.5. Incidentally night theme works just fine in iBooks3 without changing the css.

Oh it’s fun this conversion lark, isn’t it.

 

To continue this: I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s best to not specify text colour at all. I got a Kindle Fire this morning and the ‘night’ theme plays up even with the text set as #000000. It also plays up with embedded fonts, but that’s another story…

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “When is black not black? Kindle for iPad app

  1. Hi there! I’m sorry, I can’t replicate this is in InDesign CS6. If text is colored with the default [Black] swatch, it gets converted to #000000 in the CSS.

    So where are you getting the “the ‘text black’ swatch (RGB 26,24,24) ” ?

    • Hi Anne-Marie. When I create stylesheets I get two black options, Black and Registration. By default it is set to Black. When I was working with CS5.5 Black converted to #000000. In CS6 it converts to #1a1818 and Registration converts to #000000. I may well be doing something wrong, but this has just been my experience. I’ve taken some screenshots to show what I mean. Shall I email you?

Leave a Reply

